Cancer Research Classic

The Cancer Research Classic has grown in popularity over the year’s as it has blossomed into one of the top holiday showcase. The Cancer Research Classic takes place on the first Friday and Saturday of the new year and has been in existence since the 2007-08 High School season. The 2015 event was the eighth annual Cancer Research Classic and was highlighted by an 88-81 game between Chaminade (MO) and Stevenson (IL). Chaminade (MO) took down nationally ranked Stevenson (IL) 88-81 behind 39 points and 14 rebounds from star 2016 SF Jayson Tatum. Stevenson was led by 2015 Villanova commit Jalen Brunson who set a tournament record with 48 points in the loss.

2016 Preview

Tournament History:










Notable Tournament Alumni:

Michael Carter-Williams: St. Andrew’s (RI) Event MVP (2011)

Jahlil Okafor: Whitney Young (IL) 2x Event MVP (2013 & 2014)

Ben Simmons: Montverde (FL)

Andrew Wiggins: Huntington Prep (WV)

Jabari Parker: Simeon (IL)

Tyreke Evans: American Christian (PA)

D’Angelo Russell: Montverde (FL)

Jaylen Brown: Wheeler (GA)

Trey Burke: Northland (OH)

Emmanuel Mudiay: Prime Prep (TX)

Gorgui Dieng: Huntington Prep (WV)

Stanley Johnson: Mater Dei (CA)

Jalen Brunson: Stevenson (IL) Event MVP (2015)

Daniel Stewart: Neumann-Goretti (PA) 2x Event MVP (2009 & 2010)

Jayson Tatum: Chaminade (MO)

Maalik Wayns: Roman Catholic (PA)

Myck Kabongo: St. Benedict’s Prep (NJ)

BeeJay Anya: Dematha Catholic (MD)

Tony Parker: Miller Grove (GA)

Dakari Johnson: Montverde Academy (FL)

Carlton Bragg: Villa Angela St-Joseph (OH)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s